This isn’t my America

So I am going to dip my toes into the political pool for a minute. Normally I leave this commentary to Roxy but occasionally I will express my opinion, and this has to be one of those times.

While driving down our little country roads we have been seeing signs for Trump but none for Hillary Clinton, even though I know for a fact she has supporters in our area, and I realized what the problem is.

Safety.

I can’t think of a time in recent history where campaigning or putting up signs for your candidate would actually lead to threats of bodily harm, vandalism and the killing of pets.

This is not my America. Yes, I am proud to be an American, even right now during all this turmoil, but threatening each other over the democratic process seems very un-American.

Now I see a sign for Trump and I might think, eh, I don’t think I want to engage in a conversation with that person or in some cases maybe I will buy my veggies from a different roadside stand, but I would never wish them physical harm. It is their right as an American to vote for who they want.

And yet, the same consideration does not seem to be given in return. I have talked to people who support Hillary and they are afraid of even putting up sign because their neighbor is a Trump supporter. How is that fair or American?

If you have the answer let me know.

Leave a Reply

