Reflections on life-Waxing Poetic This morning

When I was a child I was told to sit and listen

I stared at the four walls around me

And the roof above me

And I asked myself

Would this be where God lived?

When I was a teenager I was told I was too bold

I stared at the chalkboard at the front of the class

And I asked myself

Why are they teaching me to find answers?

When I was an Adult I was told to do my job and listen to my superiors

I stared at my paycheck and a pile of bills

And I asked myself

Is this all there is to life?

This morning I woke up and I remembered

That I told myself that God would not live within four walls

Deity would live in my heart

This morning I woke up and I remembered

I was too bold because I looked for questions instead of answers

Knowledge came from not accepting simple answers

This morning I woke up and I remembered

That my job and who I was were two different things

To eat and have a place to stay I would work

But to live I had to feed the part of my soul

That searched for God outside of man made walls

That asked questions about the answers

That refused to accept others superiority over me

And then I turned in my bed

And I gazed at my wife

And I smiled, because I didn’t have to remember

What it felt like to be loved.

Rhavensfyre

http://www.amazon.com/Switching-Gears-Rhavensfyre-ebook/dp/B00GZ0BY04%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJBDF5XQBATGDX4VQ%26tag%3Dspea06-20%26linkCode%3Dxm2%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB00GZ0BY04

Leave a Reply

